The Three Main Types Of Cloud Computing Services

Delmer Ransonet


Cloud computing is the future of technology, and it’s here to stay. But what is cloud computing, exactly? How does it work? And why should you care? In this article we’ll explore the three main types of cloud services that have revolutionized the way we live and work with computers.

Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS)

If you’re looking for a basic introduction to cloud computing, Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) is the place to start. IaaS offers virtualized compute, storage and networking resources that can be used to build out your own private cloud environment. Providers include AWS, Microsoft Azure and Google Cloud Platform — all of which offer different features at varying price points depending on what kind of resources you need access to.

IaaS is the most common type of cloud service because it’s suitable for organizations across industries who want access to scalable infrastructure without having to manage hardware themselves or pay upfront costs for hardware purchase or maintenance.

Platform as a Service (PaaS)

Platform as a Service (PaaS) is a computing platform that provides a development environment. It’s used by developers to build and run applications, but it also has some of the other benefits of cloud computing such as scalability and availability.

PaaS is essentially a software layer that makes it easier to develop and deploy applications. This means you can focus on building your product instead of worrying about how you’re going to host it or scale it up when it gets popular!

Software as a Service (SaaS)

Software as a Service (SaaS) is one of the three main types of cloud computing services. SaaS is also called Software on Demand, and it provides access to software applications over the internet.

While SaaS can be used for nearly any kind of application, it’s typically used for enterprise applications such as accounting software or project management tools. These types of programs are often accessed from any device with an internet connection, like your laptop or smartphone–or even your tablet!

Cloud computing has three main types.

In cloud computing, there are three main types of services:

  • IaaS (Infrastructure as a Service) – This is the basic level of cloud computing and provides virtual machines or servers that run on top of virtualization software. This allows you to run applications in the cloud instead of on your own physical server hardware.
  • PaaS (Platform as a Service) – This level provides an environment where developers can build their own applications without worrying about how they’re going to run them after they’re built because they’ll be running on someone else’s infrastructure (in this case, Amazon Web Services).
  • SaaS (Software as a Service) – This type of service offers software applications that users can access over the internet rather than installing on their computers or mobile devices themselves; examples include Gmail or Salesforce CRM


The three main types of cloud computing services are Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS), Platform as a Service (PaaS) and Software as a Service (SaaS). The first one is used to provide virtual machines, storage and other resources which can be used by developers who want to build applications. The second one is designed for companies that want their employees’ workstations to run on the cloud instead of local machines so there’s no need for software installation or maintenance tasks anymore

Next Post

Data Preparation: Why Is It Important?

Introduction Data preparation is the first step in any big data analytics project. It’s also an important step because it allows you to get your hands on the data sooner rather than later and start working with it. If your data isn’t prepared correctly, then you’re wasting time and resources […]
Data Preparation: Why Is It Important?

You May Like